Blog Archives

MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood

MaddAddam is the concluding part of Margaret Atwood’s speculative fiction trilogy that started with Oryx & Crake and continued with The Year of the Flood. Chronologically, Year of the Flood and Oryx & Crake happened vaguely in parallel, but MaddAddam is a direct sequel to Flood, picking up right where Crake and Flood left off. Read the rest of this entry


Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood

I was deliberately looking for a bit of a change of pace after reading too much fantasy and what have you, so I decided to head back to the shores of the island of Margaret Atwood, to check out one of her non-fantasy novels. I think this is the fifth Atwood book I’ve read now, and as far as I can recall all of the previous four have had some sort of fantasy element: the various dystopian aspects of The Handmaid’s Tale, Oryx & Crake and The Year of the Flood, and the story-within-a-story in The Blind Assassin.
Read the rest of this entry

The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

I’ve read a few Margaret Atwood books before. I quite liked The Handmaid’s Tale, but it wasn’t as good as I was hoping. I didn’t like The Blind Assassin as much as Handmaid’s Tale. I absolutely loved Oryx & Crake. And now, I loved The Year of the Flood.
Read the rest of this entry